FedEx Freight | Forced to work dock on a 514 mile via night.

Barney

TB Lurker
Credits
I'm a road driver out of *** terminal. I and several of my fellow drivers go to *** terminal every night. We go 100 some miles to get there. I'm usually the bottom guy. About half the nights we work the dock and go home. No problem. But lately we are being forced to work the dock BEFORE we head out on an almost 400 mile via to get home. The via loads are ready to go when we get there and are on the handhelds. I keep hearing drivers tell us there are work rules stating via runs go first. Ya right, hard to do when we are forced onto the slab. And via runs over a certain mileage don't do dock and go. It's really hard to start at 10 pm, do our shuttle run. Then be forced to work the dock 2 hours, then do a 392 mile via in 14 hours. Especially with the mess of snow Monday night. Plus being short a truck for a city driver. I'm not a whiner, but this is ****. Anyone else run into this?

Who said you have to do it in 14?
Bust your 14 on Mon, bust it on Tue and they'll have to come pick you up. Thinking you'll either not do the dock or the via the rest of the week.

They ll do as they please. Sounds familiar. I believe I know what terminal you are talking about. They did that to me a few times....it sucks, but take the money and run..I hate to say it, but, it is what it is.

Mentioned this problem to a couple of drivers from my barn that run a 434 mi shuttle with occasional vias on the way to or from AND always work the dock 3-5 hours a night. If I were to tell you what they said beyond someone needs to man up, well Barney, your feelings might get hurt.