FedEx Freight | "On call"

FlyByWire

TB Lurker
Credits
Hey guys...

Im an OD linehaul driver... looking at making the switch to FXF as a P&D driver. Many of us over here are just about fed up with the way OD is run, and how we are paid (NO ot...)

Wondering what your personal expereance with 'new hires' at FXF is... I have heard everything from working on call for a year, to getting 50 hours right off the bat.. Of course it all depends on how freight is, I understand that obviously...

I want to be with a company that supports its drivers, but not sure that I want to go union (layoffs!!)...

Does FXF allow drivers to work the dock if freight is slow?

From what I have seen, it totally depends on the center. There is no "on call" where I am. We have approx 40 city drivers and 18 line drivers. Of course there is no gaurentee of 40 hrs, but they do try to be fair. Here, you bid on shifts, and that is when you start everyday. When you go home depends on the work load. Line drivers here can work the morning dock if you are cancelled. Check with the center where you are thinking about applying. Good luck!

As you can tell I don't work for Fed Ex. but I have friends who do and they tell me that they are cut out at eight hours in the P&D operation. They stagger their start times to allow their early am drivers to cut out on their eight before the OT kicks in.

I know a Fedex freight P&D driver in my town.

He told me Fedex started paying time.and a half after 8 but than they hired enough other P&D drivers that he rarely sees any over time.
He works 8 hours and goes home.

Sometimes in the winter months with bad weather he may get a lttle O.T.,in good weather forget it.

He said it was better the old way.
But who can argue with big business?

FlyByWire said:
Hey guys...

Im an OD linehaul driver... looking at making the switch to FXF as a P&D driver. Many of us over here are just about fed up with the way OD is run, and how we are paid (NO ot...)