Estes | P & D using 53' trailers

rob0126

TB Lurker
Credits
Hi folks, Im new to the board and might become a p & d driver soon for estes.

My question is, why does p & d mostly run 53' trailers, especially for residential runs?

I thought ltl companies ran pups for p & d deliveries, considering all the doubles ive seen ran over the years.

Im new to ltl which is why I ask.

thanks!

Robert

Can't give you a logical answer on the question but will advise you slide the tandems up and get a smart phone, use the mapquest feature with sat. so you get a birdseye view of what your getting into it saved me a lot of aggrarvation! Also ask other drivers before you leave if they know anything about the area,and if you call the customer be wary if the tell you "we get tractor trls all the time most dont know the difference between a ups trk and a 53--good luck

Simple answer...You can get more deliveries and make more pickups on a 53.Also,when you get empty,you can drop off an empty 53 at a customers..Not really an ideal form of LTL p and d,but alot of them do it.

We did it at every LTL carrier I've worked for (well they were 40's, then 45's and ultimately 48's) but now I see 53's all over the place.

It's usually a matter of how far away from the terminal the heavy pickups are. If you need a 53' trailer to service all the pickups 40 miles from the terminal, then it saves more time and fuel by sending a driver out with a 53' even if it slows him down on deliveries because it would cost more to send somebody out with another pup to finish servicing the pickups. Doesn't make a whole lot of sense to send a guy on a route 10 minutes from the terminal with 15 deliveries on a 53' just because you have one pick up 10 minutes from the terminal that needs a 53' every day.

We did it at every LTL carrier I've worked for (well they were 40's, then 45's and ultimately 48's) but now I see 53's all over the place.