FedEx Freight | staying awake

WRONGWAY

TB Lurker
Credits
Just wondering if anybody had any tips on staying awake all night driving. All the years I've been here I was doing a shuttle run and always staying busy on the dock and in the yard. Now, I have a laydown run and a new experience.

Music helped me when I was an OTR driver. Had to be something that held my attention and got me going. Sattelite radio did not exist then so the radio was about useless - I would find something that interested me and get to listen to it for 15 minutes if I was lucky then I was out of range. I also would go to the library and check out books on tape or radio dramas that had enough of a plot to hold my interest. One of my favorites was a BBC radiodrama of Lord of the Rings that was 32 cassette tapes (been a while, similar stuff should be available on CD). You can download all kinds of old time radio dramas online and save them to CD as audio files or save to some kind of drive as MP-3 files and play back through your radio on an I-Pod or something like it.

Cherry life savers, lots of cherry lifesavers and three cans of Dr Pepper spread out over the length of the route. A towel that you can dip into the icy cold water from your ice chest that is holding your Dr Peppers.

Keep your eyes moving! Focus left front right gauges front.every 10 seconds. Stop and do some stretching exercises. Carry a spray bottle with water.

crack a window for fresh air/a CD w/your favorite song and SING.:19:...no wonder I can never team again...:hysterical:

I download alot of books onto my iPhone and it plugs right into the radio... Learn while you earn... I wouldn't trade this phone for anything

Ranch sunflower seeds and a diet pepsi ya man works for me.