FedEx Freight | Tractors governed

pineboy88

TB Lurker
Credits
I am a driver in ATL. I noticed that they were taking trucks to the shop for unscheduled maintenance. I ask my friend in the shop, and he said per FedEx that they are governing all tractors to 55!! I told him this was unsafe, and he said that he knew, but he cant do anything about it. What is going on!!!

Which ones?

pineboy88 said:
I am a driver in ATL. I noticed that they were taking trucks to the shop for unscheduled maintenance. I ask my friend in the shop, and he said per FedEx that they are governing all tractors to 55!! I told him this was unsafe, and he said that he knew, but he cant do anything about it. What is going on!!!
Was this Road trucks or City trucks?

I travel all over the country for WML and
this is a fact on road tractors. At $3.00 a gallon FedEx National wants to get started in the black and save as much money as possible.

I drive or did drive for a company who's trucks are set at 63, and Watkins and Fedex both passed us with no problem..65 maybe 55, I doubt....Thank god for ABF, It was nice to pass someone now and then....

I work for east have a 7000 series volvo they reprogramed the the autoshift tranny and turned the power down but still does 65 truck actually doesnt start pulling good till it has 30+ bushell on her would love to have my super 10 back though

If this is true which I hope isn't, our terminal alone would lose about six runs. They are based on the faster 60 and 70 mile hour states. Four runs alone are 606 miles..At 55 miles a hour in 11 hours won't make the run.

i am a fedex freight driver and drove eveything in our yard some freightliners do 70 the internationals all governed at 65 but are so beat down you will only see about 60 61 down wind.the volvos do 67 and the big kws do 68 the small kws not a hair of 65 our freight liner straight truck does 80 and the intertrashinal straight trucks 55 but 35 up hill

safetyfirst said: